Writing Quotes

Over the past two years I’ve been writing a novel. And while doing so I jotted down snippets of the experience. Here are some of the quotes I wrote to try to describe how I was feeling or to keep me persevering as the book came to fruition. I love supporting artists, and would love to support your quotes, too! If you leave a comment or post your website below, I’ll tweet and share your inspirations for quote week!

Being an author: We write till our heads hurt, edit till our keyboards are worn, and when we think we’re done our editors show us different. And we love it.

Write on.

Writing offers the avenue for you to explain the unexplainable.

When is an author successful? The moment the inner story becomes ink on the page.

Writing is the cruelest profession because in nothing else is there such helpless isolation where no man can offer rescue.

Don’t invent a ceiling that’s not there. Imagine anything. Write your own universe.

6 thoughts on “Writing Quotes

  1. “Wings appear as I enter through the portals of my mind, into the land of mystical nocturnal reveries. As obligation returns with the pesky morning light, I fold my wings returning from limitless adventure into that which most call reality.”
    This is a snippet from my writings that I revisit often as I drag myself out of bed in the morning.

  2. Once more I press my pen on to the page and spill my soul into this world. Though I may sit solitarily quite often, it is in these inspired moments that I share my spirit, truly alive.

  3. “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t”

    -Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

